First Book

Be couragous, and  try to write in a way that scares you a little.” -Holley Gerth

I remember the very first book I read. “Frog and Toad,” by Arnold Lobel and being so excited that I had actually read the whole book by myself. I remember running up to my mom and begging her to sit down while I read the book to her. After that it was over. I was a reading machine. I loved everything about books. The smell, the feeling of the pages, and the way you could just sit there and get so completely lost that you would actually think you were one with the book. I remember my mom introducing me to V.C. Andrews books and how transfixed I was on them. I think I actually read the first series in little over a week. The crazy thing is that to this day I’m still the exact same way when it comes to books. I love them. I’m a book nerd and I do not care. I’d rather spend a day sitting in a comfy spot and getting so completely lost in the words  that I would forget everything else. Books are amazing. It kills me to realize that to this day there’s not very many people that actually read.

I mostly read either teenage romances or anything that deals with the paranormal. I know what you’re thinking, here I am 30 years old and I read teenage romance books, but I can’t help it. They just seem so much more personal than adult romances. I mean don’t get me wrong, I’m all about reading the sex parts in the adult stories, but in the teenage romances they can fall in love without having sex with each other, and call me crazy, but it’s just love.  My bookshelves right now are completely filled with either of these and only these. I have everything from books on fairies, zombies, vampires, demons, and witches. So, which brings me to my novel that I am writing. I’ve included my two favorite things, teenagers and the paranormal.  There’s so many books out there like this now, but I had to give it a try. Characters have been bouncing around in my head for quite a while now and I figured it was time for me to get their stories out. So far, they feel better and so do I.

I have problems when it comes to getting my words out onto paper. I know what I want it to say and what I want you to feel when you read it, but I can’t ever seem to get it out that way. So, I get stuck for days and days trying to figure out just the right words for the descriptions. Descriptions are my worse enemy. I have found an editor, free of charge, that I have known for quite a long time. I write things out and he does a pretty damn good job of adding more description or just editing my own words. Thank Goodness for my dear friend, Walter Coleman. I’ve decided that if I ever do make it big with at least one of my books, he gets total dedication.

Top of my bookshelf

I picked the quote tonight for one reason. Exactly what it says. If you’re a writer, then you know exactly what it feels like to write outside of your comfort zone and how much you question yourself after, but I believe what the quote says, and from this moment, I’m going to write in a way that scares me a little. I’m not sure what’s going to happen when I do this, but I’m hoping that something amazing will happen. If you write, like I do, and never leave your comfort zone, try something different. You may like the outcome in the end.

♥Kirsten

3 thoughts on “First Book

Leave a Reply

