Relationships in the 2000’s

Relationships these days are so much more different than the ones you read about in books or even watch on TV. I don’t understand it. Why does it have to be so different and why does it have to be such a game these days?  I fully believe that if two people like each other, then they should try to make it work, but now people play games to see which one has the power over the other. Why can’t there be dates, courting, wooing, and even going steady these days? What happened to it all? What dramatically changed these generations into thinking it was okay to be the way we are now? I believe in all that and it’s so hard finding someone who actually believes in all the same things that I do. And believe me, I’ve tried. I just can’t fathom living by these rules that people have for relationships these days. The other night I sat down with a very dear friend of mine and he told me the “Rules of Dating” and all I could think is WTF. There’s dating, hanging out, going steady, and then bf/gf. It’s amazing to me all the hoops you have to go through just to hang out with someone that you like. Why can’t it just go like it used to? When someone liked you, they asked you on a date, then if you like him too, you’d go steady with that guy/girl, and they’d give you their class ring to wear or even their jacket. Now it’s pulling teeth just to get someone to go on an actual date. I have gone on a few dates and I know by the end of the date if I’m going to continue seeing that person or not. I’m not going to continually lead you on to see if I may or may not like you. To me that just doesn’t make sense. You either like them or you don’t. There’s no in between. I remember sitting by the phone when I was younger waiting for someone to call me just so I could talk to them. Now there’s texting, emails, and whatever else use of technology that can be found to get in contact with that person. There’s no surprise in it anymore. I’ve found that I don’t like talking on the phone much these days unless the person absolutely without a doubt interests me beyond the norm and then I might pick up the phone to talk to you. That’s something I’ve rarely found these days. I prefer to text. But then again how do you really get to know someone if all you do is text. It’s not the same. I just want a relationship where it goes out of this society’s norms and goes back to the way, I believe, it should be. Wish me luck. I’m not giving up until I get what I want. It’s going to be dates, going steady, and all that good stuff. Maybe someone will even send me flowers one day. 
e2a0ca903bdeb399b5bcd1f469cdeaac

2 thoughts on “Relationships in the 2000’s

    • It is ridiculous! I wish people would realize that relationships aren’t a game…
      But, sadly I’m afraid that will never happen and it’s only going to get worse. ♥

Leave a Reply

